PDA

View Full Version : enlish ivy vs. grass

katlady
07-23-2007, 02:02 AM
Is there anyone out there who know how I can get rid a bunch of grass that has taken over my mom's english ivy (short of going in and pulling it all out)? I'd like to kill the grass without killing the ivy essentially.
Thanks!

Chris
07-25-2007, 05:14 PM
There are a few chemicals specifically made for killing grass specifically, though you would want to test first to see if the ivy is okay with them. Also, a significant drought could harn the grass more than the ivy.

Normally though the ivy is able to overpower the grass and cast so much shade on the ground the grass cannot grow.

Definitely a tough problem though. Rough digging might be main solution.

justontime
04-28-2008, 08:51 PM
Ivy is very hard to kill, I have been pulling out ivy for the last 4 years, every time I think it has gone for good but it keeps coming back!

SageMother
04-29-2008, 04:10 PM
You could try pouring scalding hot water on the grass to kill it off. I think the process has to be repeated but it can be done ore accurately than using chemicals that may kill the ivy as well.

Serenity
04-29-2008, 10:50 PM
Ivy is very hard to kill, I have been pulling out ivy for the last 4 years, every time I think it has gone for good but it keeps coming back!

justontime, don't say that! LOL. I have ivy I want to kill off without destroying the grass if at all possible that I just noticed the other day. The previous owners have let it grow in such a way that it's now entwined with the exterior phone lines and other cables. While it's not high, only about three feet at its highest point, I'm scared to yank at it in case I take the wiring with it.

msmeg
04-30-2008, 06:11 PM
I accidentally got some ivy and vinca vine in some plants I transplanted form my moms it is taking over.... I even tried round up and it survives.

justontime
05-01-2008, 12:30 PM